Club History- 1974-2005


During the 1970's and early 80's Raharney contested 5 senior finals in 74, 75, 76, 79 and 81 but success eluded the team on each occasion. However the club continued to work hard at underage level and the club won 5 minors and 4 U-21's which boded well for the future. The Centenary year of the GAA was celebrated in 1984 and it proved a very successful one for Raharney winning the Senior, Junior and U-21 finals. The senior team overcame a fancied Castletown Geoghegan in a gripping final on a score of 2-14 to 2-12. The successful Raharney senior team was, : Noel Greville, Declan Mullen, Thos Cleary, Declan Weir, Donie Smith, Martin Hickey, Michael Farrelly, Liam Lynch, Mattie Mullen, Joe Doyle, Michael Doyle, John Donoghue, Sean Greville and Frank Shiels, Michael Flanagan, replacing Joe Doyle and Tommy McManus taking over for John Donoghue. That successful team was captained by the late Johnny McManus RIP.

In the nineties Raharney contested 4 SHC finals in 90, 92, 94 and 95. In the 1992 final Raharney captained by John Coyne defeated Lough Lene Gaels by 2-06 to 1-06 in a windswept Castletown with Tommy Raleigh scoring the winning goal. In 1994 Raharney captained by "Gossy" Weir again tasted success with a hard fought win over Castlepollard in the final at Collinstown on a score 1-14 to 1-10. A great run the Leinster Club Championship followed with a very narrow defeat by Birr who were later that year crowned All Ireland Champions. The defeat in the 1995 final was a bitter pill to swallow and for the next number of years the club struggled at senior level culminating in a titanic relegation battle in 2002 with Cullion for survival at senior status. The club had reached a crisis and a major plan of action was initiated by Declan Mullen to develop the underage teams in the club. This plan soon reaped dividends in 2004 when Raharney won the junior final the first piece of silverware for the club since 1995.

Upcoming Events

Player Profile